NFA Founders and Lifetime Members

The Northern Finance Association started with a 1989 conference in Ottawa. It was organized by

  • Giovanni Barone-Adesi (University of Alberta and Swiss Finance Institute)
  • Vijay Jog (Carleton University)
  • Lawrence Kryzanowski (Concordia University)

They continued to coordinate the selection of the site and the local host university for the conference annually, until the NFA was incorporated.

Annual Conference Sponsors

Each year, many organizations generously sponsor the annual conference or act as exhibitors. We thank these organizations for their support.

If your organization would like to sponsor the NFA 2018, please contact Claudia Champagne.

Business School Gold Sponsors

The following business schools have each generously donated $5000 to the NFA to assist our general activities. If you would like to find out how your school can also support us, please contact President Lynnette Purda or for more details.

Inaugural 5-Year Members

The following individuals paid $500 (or more) for initial 5-year memberships in 2013-14.

  • Najah Attig, Saint Mary’s University
  • Kee-Hong Bae, York University
  • Marie-Claude Beaulieu, Université Laval
  • Sandra Betton, Concordia University
  • Laurence Booth, University of Toronto
  • Martin Boyer, HEC Montréal
  • Phelim Boyle, Wilfrid Laurier University
  • Walid Busaba, Western University
  • Ling Cen, University of Toronto
  • KJ Choi, University of Calgary
  • Stéphane Chrétien, Université Laval
  • Peter Christoffersen, University of Toronto
  • Susan Christoffersen, University of Toronto
  • Cowan Research (Eventus)
  • Donald Cyr, Brock University
  • Alex David, University of Calgary
  • Alan Douglas, University of Waterloo
  • Iraj Fooladi, Dalhousie University
  • Louis Gagnon, Queen’s University
  • Ron Giammarino, University of British Columbia
  • Allen Goss, Ryerson University
  • Scott Hendry, Bank of Canada
  • Ranjini Jha, University of Waterloo
  • Madhu Kalimipali, Wilfrid Laurier University
  • Mark Kamstra, York University
  • Raymond Kan, University of Toronto
  • Dmytro Karabash
  • Abdul-Rahman Khokhar, McMaster University
  • Lisa Kramer, University of Toronto
  • Van Son Lai, Université Laval
  • Ali Lazrak, University of British Columbia
  • Alfred Lehar, University of Calgary
  • Yuanshun Li, Ryerson University
  • Tom McCurdy, University of Toronto
  • Vikas Mehrotra, University of Alberta
  • Dave Michayluk, University of Technology, Sydney
  • Dev Mishra, University of Saskatchewan
  • Pablo Moran, University of Calgary
  • Hernan Ortiz-Molina, University of British Columbia
  • Ari Pandes, University of Calgary
  • Lynnette Purda, Queen’s University
  • Jiaping Qiu, McMaster University
  • Mohammad Rahaman, Saint Mary’s University
  • William Rentz, University of Ottawa
  • Gordon Roberts, York University
  • Michael Robinson, University of Calgary
  • Sergei Sarkissian, McGill University
  • Gordon Sick, University of Calgary
  • Brian Smith, Wilfrid Laurier University
  • Issouf Soumaré, Université Laval
  • James Thompson, University of Waterloo
  • Melissa Toffanin, Ryerson University
  • Ilias Tsiakas, University of Guelph
  • Kevin Wang, University of Toronto
  • Liyan Yang, University of Toronto
  • Ashraf Zaman, Saint Mary’s University

New 5-year Members

The following individuals purchased a 5-year membership after the inaugural period. We appreciate their support. Anyone who purchases a new 5-year membership will be listed here.

  • Wolfgang Bessler, Justus-Liebig-University Giessen
  • Murray Carlson, University of British Columbia
  • Francesca Carrieri, McGill University
  • Wei Dou, University of Pennsylvania
  • Burton Hollifield, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Mark Huson, University of Alberta
  • Maher Kooli, Université du Québec à Montréal
  • Nadia Massoud, University of Melbourne
  • Randall Morck, University of Alberta
  • Florian Muenkel, Saint Mary’s University
  • Maria Pacurar, Dalhousie University
  • Christine Parlour, University of California – Berkeley
  • Ryan Riordan, Queen’s University
  • Shastri Sandy, The Brattle Group
  • Sakya Sarkar, Tulane University
  • Jesus A. Sierra Jimenez, Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation
  • Anup Srivastava, Dartmouth College
  • Roi D. Taussig, Ariel University